

PRESENTED BY

THE FORE!KIDS FOUNDATION

May 30 & 31 at Bayou Oaks South Course





THE MACKEL CHAMPIONSHIP HAS A PROUD HISTORY WITH A VISION GOING BACK TO 1993.

The Founders of the Championship, Frank Mackel, Dave Lagarde and Ronnie Benandi, had a sincere desire to give the amateur golfers of the New Orleans region a premier competition where friends could come together with a mutual love of the game. The Men's Metropolitan Amateur Championship was played in 1993 at City Park. With the stewardship of Dave Lagarde and Jimmy Headrick, the tournament is returning to the prominence that was envisioned by its namesake, Frank Mackel.

We are most fortunate to have the Fore!Kids Foundation (FKF) as our presenting sponsor. Since 1958, the Fore!Kids Foundation has raised money to fund children's service organizations through golf events like the Zurich Classic of New Orleans, The Holiday Auction Fore!Kids and several charitable golf tournaments. As a 501(c)(3) corporation, Fore!Kids has helped to raise more than \$39 million to date for children's charities in metro New Orleans and Baton Rouge. More information at their website. The Tour considers FKF as one of the premier Host Organizations in the country.

Mackel was an integral part of the PGA TOUR event and Fore!Kids. He was the head golf professional at Lakewood Country Club, the then home of the TOUR event, from the year 1975 through 1988, and, was the greatest ambassador for golf in our city at that critical time. He also served as the Chairman of the Board of FKF in 1995 when Davis Love III won the event at English Turn.

Frank was a critical asset for FKF in keeping the PGA TOUR in our city through several title sponsor transitions from 1975 until his passing in 2001. Some of his network and logistical expertise remains evident in FKF and the golf community currently. We are blessed to have Fore!Kids Foundation involved with The Mackel. As with prior tournaments, proceeds from the event will help fund college scholarships for the recipients.





PRESENTED BY THE FORE!KIDS FOUNDATION

FORMAT: 36 Holes Stroke Play

ENTRY FEE: \$200. Includes one practice round from June 29 to July 10, and two rounds of

competition on July 11 and 12. Cart fee is included. Range balls during tournament are included in entry fee. Lunch provided each day of competition. A tournament gift will be given to each participant along with tournament prizes. Hydration drinks, fruit

and snacks will be provided to the participants and their caddies.

PRACTICE PRIVILEGES: Practice round available June 29 to July 10. Cost \$55 + tax (includes golf cart

and range balls).

ENTRY DEADLINE: All entrants must file an entry by 5:00 pm, July 1, or until full field is reached.

ENTRY REFUNDS: Prior to the start of the practice round, entry fees will be refunded notifying the

TBA

RULES OF GOLF: Play will be governed by the 2020 USGA Rules of Golf and local rules. All

questions will be settled by The Mackel Rules Committee whose decision will

be final.

PLAYER INFORMATION: Competitors must be neat in appearance and wear appropriate attire. Use of

cell phones is prohibited on course during competition except in case of

emergency. Range finders will be permitted.

CONDITIONS - SCHEDULES: The Mackel Tournament Committee reserves the right to alter any of the

conditions and schedules herein. The decision of the Tournament Committee

in any matter shall be final.

CONTACT: Paul Fischer

pfischer@forekidsfoundation.com

504.342.9000



PRESENTED BY THE FORE! KIDS FOUNDATION

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Dave Lagarde, Tournament Founder **Jimmy Headrick,** PGA of America **Richard Williams** Judy Mackel Fletcher Mackel Travers Mackel **Kelly Gibson,** PGA TOUR **Brad Weaver,** PGA of America

TOURNAMENT COMMITTEE

Alex Abbruzza, PGA of America
Dave Lagarde
Jimmy Headrick, PGA of America
Todd McPherson

Bart Dornier
Steve Worthy
Brian Long, PGA of America
Chris Kenyon
Beth Bares

Mike Rodrigue Judy Mackel Fletcher Mackel Travers Mackel

CHAMPION

1993 Tommy Brennan 1994 Skip Wilken 1995 Mark Bernard **1996** Tommy Brennan 1997 David Pitre **1998** Tommy Brennan 1999 Chip Zahn 2000 Tommy Brennan 2001 Brett Bergeron 2002 Tommy Brennan 2003 Brett Bergeron 2004 Herbert Curtis 2005 Mark Fair 2006 Seth Dufrene 2007 Jarrett Walker 2008 No Championship 2009 No Championship **2010** Matt Hungerman 2011 Andrew Noto 2012 Patrick Christovich 2013 Buck Williams 2014 Todd McPherson **2015** Jacob Bergeron 2016 Todd McPherson **2017** T.C. Ford **2018** Trey Morse 2019 Kris Kerr

SENIOR CHAMPION

1993 Skip Wilken

1994 Steve Valasek

1995 Steve Kehrer 1996 Steve Valasek 1997 Steve Kehrer 1998 Steve Kehrer 1999 Sam Stewart **2000** Al Zahn **2001** Al Zahn 2002 Skip Wilken 2003 Herbert Curtis 2004 Darell Benoit 2005 Darell Benoit 2006 Joel Childress 2007 Ron Cornette 2008 No Senior Champonship 2009 No Senior Championship 2010 No Senior Championship 2011 No Senior Championship 2012 Bart Dornier **2013** Skip Sewell 2014 Bart Dornier

2015 Bart Dornier - Co-Champion2015 Doug Cristina - Co-Champion2016 Mitch Sexton

2017 Bart Dornier2018 U.J. Mollere2019 Bart Dornier